Everybody is Irish on March 17th-Media Story

saint-patys-7“The first St. Patrick’s Day parade took place not in Ireland, but in the United States. Irish soldiers serving in the English military marched through New York City on March 17, 1762. Along with their music, the parade helped the soldiers to reconnect with their Irish roots, as well as fellow Irishmen serving in the English army.” This quote I found on the website History Happens Every Day and it was very shocking to find that the first parade was in the United States. This day use to be a holy day but now it is more of published holiday. I feel that the United States does celebrate Saint Patrick’s Day as big as Ireland does but I feel as though this website proved me wrong. When I was little I remember going into class and my teachers would all dress up and have everything green with a pot of gold candy in the classroom. I thought of this day as fun and a day where we did fun activities in the classroom. As I got older it became a day to celebrate and another reason to drink.

I never understood what Saint Patrick ’s Day really was but I learned in Dublin. I learned that it started out as a Catholic celebration and that it was said Saint Patrick himself rose from the dead and fought off all the snakes. This to me does not really make sense but that is what I was told by an Irish person. When I went to Dublin I was expecting it to be less commercialized than it was. There were a lot of American and also a lot of Scottish people as well, which I did not expect. What I learned about Saint Patrick’s Day while I was there, from the true Irish, that in the beginning of the day they attend church and then drink and eat for the festivities the rest of the day. The festival that I went to in Dublin was full of food, face painting, music, dancing, and fireworks. Everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves, including me and my friends.

saint-patys-8

At night there was heavy drinking and dancing at bars all throughout the city. Dublin also makes the festival a week long, having different events throughout the week. Now Saint Patrick’s Day is celebrated in so many different places. “Today, St. Patrick’s Day is celebrated by people of all backgrounds in the United States, Canada, and Australia. Although North America is home to the largest productions, St. Patrick’s Day has been celebrated in other locations far from Ireland, including Japan, Singapore, and Russia.”

You can also take an irish quiz

saint-patys-1

Leave a Reply

